webinar register page

Webinar banner
Estate Litigation Fundamentals: What Every Practitioner Needs To Know
Legal professionals interested in the area of estate litigation are invited to join this free one-hour crash course exploring the unique opportunities, challenges, and approaches of the practice. Participants in this webinar will gain a broad understanding of the estates legal landscape, while also having the chance to pose their own questions to the experts. This session will be presented by industry veterans Amy Mortimore and Mark Weintraub, Q.C. of Clark Wilson LLP who have over 60 years of combined experience and are the authors of the recently released British Columbia Estate Litigation textbook.

Key Learning Objectives
• To identify and address difficult issues that estate practitioners deal with on a regular basis
• To learn the differences in approach in estate litigation versus other types of litigation
• To understand how the updates in Amy Mortimore and Mark Weintraub’s text can help your practice
• To participate in a Question & Answer period with the opportunity to ask live questions

Agenda
12:00 – 12:05 pm Introduction and agenda overview
12:05 – 12:15 Good conscience substantive constructive trust
12:15 – 12:25 Incapacity and undue influence
12:25 – 12:35 Wills variation
12:35 – 12:45 Passing of Accounts
12:45 – 1:00 Q&A and Conclusion

CPD Credits (1 hour)
• For British Columbia, participants may claim up to 1 hour of CPD credit with the Law Society of BC
• For Ontario, 1 hour can be applied towards the 9 Substantive Hours of Continuing Professional Development as required by the Law Society of Ontario
• For other provinces, consider including this 1 hour course as a CPD learning activity in your mandatory annual Continuing Professional Development Plan as required by the Law Society

Event Time
• Pacific Time: 12:00 pm
• Mountain Time: 1:00 pm
• Central Time: 2:00 pm
• Eastern Time: 3:00 pm
• Atlantic Time: 4:00 pm
• Newfoundland Time: 4:30 pm

Oct 1, 2021 12:00 PM in Pacific Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
* Required information
Loading

Speakers

Amy Mortimore, B.A., LL.B.
Amy A. Mortimore is a partner at Clark Wilson LLP and Co-Chair of the firm’s Estates and Trusts Litigation Practice Group. She practises exclusively in the area of estate and trust litigation, including elder law. Ms. Mortimore has appeared at all levels of court in British Columbia and at the Supreme Court of Canada.
Mark Weintraub, B.A., M.A., LL.B., Q.C.
Mark Weintraub is a partner at Clark Wilson LLP and is the firm’s senior estate and trust litigator. He has acted as counsel in a broad range of litigation matters, including Wills Variation Act claims, negligent or fraudulent estate administration, wills and trusts interpretation, as well as committeeships, power of attorney disputes and claims involving elder abuse.